My wife and I are taking it easy this Thanksgiving.  Normally we drive up to Green Bay to spend the weekend with my parents, but with our weeks being rather crazy lately, I decided we’re just gonna hang out at home and eat some pizzas (cooked on the grill of course).

This change of the normal tradition got me thinking.  I think Thanksgiving may have more to offer than just boat loads of pie, turkey, and mashed potatoes.  Seriously, the Thanksgiving season is a great time to remember how much God has given us.  Even if your life seems sucky, man, we’ve all got a lot to be thankful for.  It’s with this in mind that I created a soundtrack for your Thanksgiving holiday (you can thank me later): Life is Good.

I hope you enjoy this Thanksgiving mix!

Here are the songs and my thoughts on choosing each of the tracks:

Track List (get it all in one zip file here)
1. Frenchmen in Rome – I Get Up (Download or Stream)
This song is one of the grooviest, happiest songs you’ll ever hear, by one of the best bands at doing happy – “I get up, you’ll never see me with a frown…”

2. Half-Handed Cloud – You’ve Been Faithful (Download or Stream)
I just had to include this song.  Half-Handed Cloud is amazing at taking the Bible and making an awesome song out of it.  God is faithful – if this doesn’t make you thankful, I don’t know what will.

3. Relient K – Beaming (Download or Stream)
Relient K deserves to have a song on the Manic Disk because they do happy punk better than most other bands out there, and what better song than “Beaming?”

4. Karla Adolphe – Can’t Thank You Enough (Download or Stream)
A great worship song that goes perfect with the holiday.  She’s done an awesome job on the latest Chair and Microphone offering by the folks at Enter the Worship Circle, so be sure to pick up a copy.

5. Overhang – The Water Will Be a Sign (demo) (Download or Stream)
Overhang isn’t a band I think of as a manically happy band, but this demo is perfect with it’s simple trust in God – “Hush little baby it’ll be alright… the Father’s got you on His mind… when God makes a promise you can bet your life…”

6. Ryan Dean – Praise the Lord, You Heavens Adore Him (Download or Stream)
The name says it all.  I almost deleted this song from the mix, because it’s my least favorite and it doesn’t flow thematically as well as others, but the album just didn’t seem to work without it.

7. Ben and Bruno – Pack of Light Blue Birds (Download or Stream)
Not an overly excitedly happy song, but there’s an element of the song that makes me feel like I’m floating above the clouds, insulated from any problems.

8. Destroy Nate Allen – Come to the Mountain (Download or Stream)
This song makes me happy, and it’s addictively catchy.  Just try to listen without singing along.  I dare you.

9. Don Chaffer – Man I’m Gonna Sing (Download or Stream)
I’m not sure exactly what’s going on in this song, but the guy wants to sing.  So there you have it!

10. Perry and the Poorboys – Happy Beach (Download or Stream)
This is the grossest, happiest, most disgustingly cheerful song you will ever hear.  I hope.  I love it, but I do feel a little like Lambchop when I listen to it.

11. Lenny Smith – My Teeth Are Shining Today (Download or Stream)
Similar to #10 but not as disturbingly cute and happy.  One of my all-time favorite songs.

Hope you all enjoy the CD!  To download the album art, just save the image above or click here.

Happy Thanksgiving!  And remember that whether your life seems great right now or not, Jesus conquered death and sin and reigns as Lord over all, so you’ve got a lot to be thankful for this holiday week!

