dontbreakmyheart.jpgHere it is, the much-coveted Don’t Break My Heart mix CD, now with songs you can download and listen to.

1. Steven Delopoulos – She Held My Hand
2. Bob Dylan – Girl from the North Country
3. Rosie Thomas – Say Hello
4. The Innocence Mission – Love That Boy
5. Destroy Nate Allen – Ambulance
6. Aaron Sprinkle – Really Something
7. Dave Thompson – Overboard Love Song
8. Michael Blair Project – Peace to You
9. Jesse Sprinkle – Sunsites
10. Bill Mallonee – Here Comes the Heartache
11. Don Peris – Catherine-Anne
12. Waterdeep – Diana
13. Fine China – Are You on Drugs?
14. Sufjan Stevens – The Mistress Witch from McClure
15. Relient K – Faking My Own Suicide
16. Ben and Bruno – New Friend

If you’ll allow me to chat a bit more, let me explain the story of the album and the songs it contains.

1. Steven Delopoulos – She Held My Hand
This song sums up the album, if I understand the song correctly anyway.  There’s power in relationships.  Sometimes good things happen, and sometimes incredible pain and destruction happen.  This entire mix explores the idea of love in relationships and how it can bring great joy or great sorrow.

2. Bob Dylan – Girl from the North Country
Just the greatest love song ever from the greatest songwriter ever.  I know this song came from Dylan’s pre-Christian years, but I just couldn’t leave it out.  Love and sadness in upper Minnesota.

3. Rosie Thomas – Say Hello
Just a really sweet song about finding love in a relationship.  The duet with Sufjan is a nice touch.

4. The Innocence Mission – Love That Boy
A simple love song dedicated to Drew.  Wish I knew who Drew was…

5. Destroy Nate Allen – Ambulance
Now we’re getting into more complicated stuff, where real love has to work out with real people.

6. Aaron Sprinkle – Really Something
Mmm…  One of my favorite songs of all time by one of my favorite artists of all time.  I’m not sure if this is what it’s about or not, but here’s what I envision – a guy and a girl are married and in love.  Life is tough sometimes.  Life is boring sometimes.  But with one smile from his girl, he remembers that he’s got something really special going on.  It’s love in the midst of real life.

7. Dave Thompson – Overboard Love Song
All this heaviness was making my head hurt, so I had to throw in a lighter Revenge of the Nerds style song.  Love is more than looks.

8. Michael Blair Project – Peace to You
You know, I’m not sure what this song is about, but I think it’s about a marriage falling apart and dealing with forgiving the other person for walking away and giving up.  Whatever it’s about, man, I feel goosebumps when I listen to it.

9. Jesse Sprinkle – Sunsites
Not about love as far as I know, but I personally think that if you throw an instrumental song into a mix CD you seem that much cooler.  Correct me if I’m wrong.

10. Bill Mallonee – Here Comes the Heartache
I don’t know exactly what this is about either, but love in relationships has great power to transform and heal and create, but it can also bring heartache and pain too.  Bill Mallonee captures that feeling well in this song.

11. Don Peris – Catherine-Anne
More sadness from losing one you love.

12. Waterdeep – Diana
A simple song exploring the power that relationships have to bring pain and hurt when they’re not working right.  Doesn’t that just make you feel all warm and gooey inside?  Not.

13. Fine China – Are You on Drugs?
“It’s not love.  Are you on drugs?”  Relationships gone weird.

14. Sufjan Stevens – The Mistress Witch from McClure
Very powerful song of relationships gone horribly bad.  I think it’s about a son discovering that his dad is having an affair.  Relationships can cause a lot of pain when you don’t do it right.

15. Relient K – Faking My Own Suicide
Enough of the heartache.  Time for some humor.  Ever want to get some girl’s attention by faking your own suicide?  Me either.

16. Ben and Bruno – New Friend
A good close to the album, “New Friend” looks at the innocence of love that kids can have between each other.  “I have a new friend.  She is a girl but not my girlfriend.”

The Blah Blah – serving up the best in Christian music MP3s.

