I found Dave Thompson a little while ago at The Corner Church (thanks, guys!), and when I played him for my wife, she said, “Isn’t Dave Thompson the guy who founded Wendy’s?”

I ran to the nearest computer and, thanks to Google, found out that the perpetually jovial founder of Wendy’s was actually Dave Thomas (see him here), not Dave Thompson.  I’m not sure if I’m relieved or sad about that.  I think sad mostly.

Anyway, you might be asking yourself which one of the fine young men in the above picture is Dave Thompson.  They both could be, honestly, but the one on the left is who I’m posting about today.  I have no clue who the one on the right is.

It’s 2:30 in the morning right now and I just got done with a website design I’ve been working on.  I want to get to bed, so I’m not gonna say a whole lot about Dave.  Instead I’ll let him do some talking.  Here’s what he says on his website about himself:

Hey everyone! I guess I could start by letting you know that I am Dave Thompson. I am 24 years old and I’m from a small town in southern Oklahoma called Cyril. I could go one route and try to impress promoters by trying to convince them of how awesome of a time their group will have when they bring me out and how their lives will never be the same, or I could try to talk my fans into believing that I am super amazingly cool and talk them into buying my cd. Or I guess I could talk fancy and name drop for the record labels and force them to believe that “I” am the next big thing. But, I won’t. I’ll just let everyone know that I strive so hard to be light, real, not fake, and transparent. My main goal is to be like Christ, which to me starts with showing an incredible amount of love to everyone I come in contact with. After all God is Love. Please enjoy my music, and most of all, love one another.

He’s got a style that reminds me a little of Jack Johnson, Joshua Radin, and other acoustic guys.  His songs are fun and pretty catchy.  He writes some really good lyrics. Unlike my creative writing skills. “Really good lyrics?” Talk about lame use of adjectives. Anyway, I especially like the “Revenge of the Nerds” feel of “Overboard Love Song.”  Takes me back to high school.

Here are two of my favorites by Davey-boy, and I’m going to bed now:

God Still Loves Me
Overboard Love Song

Website: www.davethompsonmusic.com
MySpace: www.myspace.com/davethompsonmusic

Purchase MP3s from iTunes
Purchase Dave Thompson from E-music (and get 50 free MP3s for testing it out, seriously)

The Blah Blah – serving up the best in Christian music MP3s

Note: All MP3s will be removed after one week

