Tyler JamesYou’ve probably noticed that this post is not a girl of Christian indie.  I had a couple women I wanted to post about here, but when it came right down to it, I realized I didn’t really know what I was talking about, and I didn’t care to learn either, so I’m ending the whole thing today with Tyler James, a guy of Christian indie.

Not that I know what I’m talking about any better with Tyler James.

I just found him yesterday at drivebymedia, so I haven’t really had a chance to listen to him that thoroughly, but I thought he was good enough to warrant a post.

Tyler James comes from Nashville (like half the music world).  He’s got a sound that reminds me a little of John Mayer, so if you dig his stuff, he’ll be right up your alley.  Despite the fact that he looks like he’s 12, he’s got a good indie pop sound with jazz and folk influences and catchy choruses.

Here’s what he says about himself on his MySpace page:

24 year-old Tyler James doesn’t look half as old as his record collection. Listening to the likes of Nick Drake, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon, and Bob Dylan, his songs draw a weary ear in. Born near Seattle and raised in conservative midwest, Tyler moved to Nashville in 2000 to study and to get out of the small towns he grew up in. He puts out lo-fi recordings full of sunny melodies over mellow indie-folk and brit-pop and his first proper EP with producer Jason Lehning (Guster, David Mead) was met with critical acclaim.

I’m not sure if he’s a Christian or not, but on his list of influences, he lists Jesus Christ.  That could either mean he’s a Christian or he just likes the idea of Jesus.

I want to write more, but my internet connection is being retarded this morning, so I’ll just give you the music and be done.

Here are two songs for you to check out:

Moving to New York City
Stay Humble

Website: www.tylerjames.com
MySpace: www.myspace.com/tylerjames

Purchase MP3s on iTunes

The Blah Blah – serving up the best in Christian music MP3s

Note: All MP3s will be removed after one week

