Colour Revolt EPA friend of mine introduced me to Colour Revolt about a year ago when I told him, “All my Christian music sucks.”  So he pointed me toward Colour Revolt, I downloaded a few tracks from their EP, I downloaded a remix, I put them in my MP3 player, and they’ve been in my playlists ever since.  They’re kinda’ like an edgy, drugged-up Coldplay, with extra guitars, some harsh vocals, more poetic lyrics, and smaller egos.  You can read a great review here, so I won’t waste your time with a mediocre review on this blog.

The band is made up of Jesse Coppenbarger (vocals, guitar, keys), Jimmy Cajoleas (guitars), Len Clark (drums, vocals), Sean Kirkpatrick (guitar, vocals, keys), and Patrick Addison (bass). Yes, you read that right – three guys on guitars. With so many guitars, things could get loud and out of control, but they do a great job of creating interesting interweaving parts that complement each other rather than just creating noise.

Here’s an interesting story I found on their website about the recording of their EP:

… it was outside any proper studio that the songs on the Colour Revolt EP took form. Scheduled to record in a friends basement in Jackson, Miss. in late August 2005, Hurricane Katrina struck the same weekend, pushing storm evacuees into the recording space. With nowhere to record in a city lacking electricity, the band set up shop with a ProTools rig in the living room of the owner of Esperanza Plantation, a small local record label, also home to the band. Forced into a DIY approach, the band used a pair of pantyhose as a windscreen and built a vocal booth out of spare cardboard boxes and leftover brooms.

Colour Revolt is currently playing in areas around Mississippi, Georgia, and Florida. Check out their MySpace page for show information.

Take a listen to these three awesome Colour Revolt songs:
A New Family
Blood in Your Mouth
Mattresses Underwater

Website: www.colourrevolt.com
MySpace: www.myspace.com/colourrevolt

Purchase MP3s on iTunes
Purchase CD on Amazon

The Blah Blah – serving up the best in Christian music MP3s

